Flag Sales Tax Exemptions

The sale of U.S. flags, along with State flags, is tax free in 10 states. They are Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

This exemption only applies to official US flags. 

Red, white and blue banners, bunting, miniature flags, patriotic decorations and any other products displaying images of Old Glory are still fully taxable.

This applies to accessories such as flag poles and mounting equipment as well.

 We monitor this closely and will adjust as more States join.


Conn. Gen. Stat. § 12-412(23)


Fla. Stat. § 212.08(7)(f)


Md. Code, Tax General § 11-205


Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 64H § 6(w)

New Jersey

N.J. Stat. 54:32B-8.26

New York

N.Y. Tax Law § 1115(a)(11)


72 Pa. Stat. § 7204(32)

Rhode Island

R.I. Gen. Laws § 44-18-30(34)

West Virginia

W. Va. Code § 11-15-9(a)(49)


Wis. Stat. § 77.54(46)

 FMAA Certified Flag Retailer